TS Government Formation Act introduction revealed

Dec 5, 2015

The Telangana State Government has issued the notification on the Telangana District Formation Act introduction, based on the AP District Formation Act-1973, and the new Act will expedite the process of formation of new districts in the Telangana State.   

Principal Secretary (Revenue) BR Meena has issued the GO, and the TS government has stated working on the measures for the reorganization of the existing districts, as well as the formation of the 14 new districts. According to reports, seven new districts including Mancherial, Jagitial, Siddipet, Vikarabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem and Nagar Kurnool will be formed in the first phase. The other districts formation will take place in the second phase. The notification stated that the Telangana new districts will come into being from March 1, 2016, and the further announcement will be made in January 2016. The TRS government will be taking the objections and suggestions from the parties and people in February 2016.

The Telangana state cabinet in September had approved the reorganization of districts and mandals, by forming a special committee with chief secretary as its chairman. Chief Commissioner of Land Administration Raymond Peter had provided a report on the proposed 14 new districts to chief secretary Rajiv Sharma, which will be submitted to CM K Chandrasekhar Rao. Mr.Rao is likely to give his approval in January 3rd week.