Former CBI Director quits TDP

Dec 14, 2015

Telangana TDP faces another jolt ahead of the crucial Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections. Former CBI Director and senior Telugu Desam Party leader K Vijayarama Rao has announced his decision of quitting the party.

K.Vijayarama Rao was elected from Khairatabad in 1999, the then Chandrababu Naidu’s Cabinet, and he was considered by many as the genesis for ‘Telangana movement’. Mr.Rao had been defeated in 2004 elections and recently, he has not been active in TDP.

Reportedly, K Vijayarama Rao, a native of Nellore district have made up his mind to join the ruling party TRS and extend his services. Mr.Rao’s shift to the pink party might further hit the morale of the TDP cadre in Telangana region. It is known that TDP leaders Talasani Srinivas Yadav from Sanath Nagar, Teegala Krishna Reddy from Maheshwaram, Manchireddy Kishan Reddy from Ibrahimpatnam and Madhavaram Krishna Rao of Kukatpally have shifted from TDP to TRS earlier.