Congress wins 2, TRS wins 4 MLC seats

Dec 31, 2015

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi had won 4 seats while Congress snatched two seats in the December 27 MLC elections. TRS had won the two seats in Ranga Reddy and one each in Khammam and Mahabubnagar, while it was Congress that stole the show as it won the contested Nalgonda seat which had been prestigious to both the parties.

Of the 12 MLC seats, TRS won six seats unanimously in Karimnagar, Adilabad, Nizamabad, Warangal and Medak districts. TRS kept its winning streak as the counting of the ballots was conducted on Wednesday. Transport Minister P. Mahender Reddy's brother Narender Reddy and Shambhipur Raju from Ranga Reddy, an educationist Kasireddy Narayan Reddy in Mahabubnagar and a sitting MLC Balasani Laxminarayana won in the elections.With the announcement of polls, TRS strength has gone up to 29 while the Congress has eight, MIM 2 and BJP 1 in the 40-member House.

TPCC chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy responding to victory of two seats said, “We won the polls by following democratic practices while the ruling party contested with allurements, misuse of official machinery and all undemocratic means.”